Message for our Class of 2020

Congratulations to our graduating AS AM majors and minors! We are so proud to have had you in our program.

Please see this special message from our Department Chair, Diane Fujino, intended for both graduating and continuing students. As Professor Fujino notes, we know that all of our students have been faced with unprecedented challenges this year. Whatever the next chapter of your life may be -- whether you are graduating or continuing on with the rest of your AS AM classes -- please know that our department remains available to you.

We would also like to formally announce our recipients of our 2020 Department Awards:

Academic Achievement Award: Katie Bui (major) and Megumi Canup (major)

Yuri Kochiyama Activism and Community Service Award: Christine Choi (major) and Dana Ysabel Dela Cruz (major)

Artistic Achievement Award: Fong Kuo (minor)

Sucheng Chan Distinguished Achievement Award: Katie Bui (major)

Shig Katayama Memorial Scholarship: Jarel Park (major)
Honorable mention: Zoe Bowlus (minor)

If any of our graduates would like to give a special shout-out to faculty, friends or family who have been especially helpful to them during their time here at UCSB, please feel free to contact our Undergraduate Advisor, Cora Danielson, at Cora will add any messages/photos our graduates have to the bottom of this web page, plus we are accepting videos from students who would like to share them on our Facebook page:

Finally, we would like to give our own special shout-out to our Business Officer, Arlene Philips, who, after being with the department for 16 years, will be "graduating" to the next chapter in her life: retirement! Here she is with our Shig Katayama Memorial Scholarship recipient, Jarel Park. (They may not be 6 feet apart, but they do have their masks on -- and you can tell they're smiling!)

We send love to all our students and wish everyone the best -- at UCSB and beyond. :-)